What is wine? (Inaugural wine related blog post!)

When I started this blog, I focused solely on education.  Now that I have the hang of it, I wanted to start blogging on wine as well.

So, “what is wine?”

Wine is defined as, “An alcoholic beverage made from fermented grapes or other fruits.”

That seems so impersonal.  Really, it’s the last thing which comes to mind when I’m thinking of, or drinking, wine.

To me, it’s all of the following: A social experience, a way to enhance food, an opportunity for discovery, a chance to learn, a way to measure value, a way to share, excitement, anticipation, fun, joy, and probably a few other things I haven’t well articulated.

How many other beverages have brought out such passion, enthusiasm, and appreciation throughout history in people of so many cultures?

In this area of my blog, I hope to share some thoughts, much lighter hearted than those in the education section, about the beverage I love to explore: wine.

Leave a Reply

